Max players 0/0, server won't load

Community Support & Discussion on Space Engineers
Post Reply
KingKull2112
GameServers.com Forum Newb
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:44 pm

Max players 0/0, server won't load

Post by KingKull2112 » Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:48 pm

Here is my config, what did I do wrong? When I try joining through Steam, it says the game no longer exists. I've edited the Sandbox.sbc file so the mods are also installed there and everything should work for that also.

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<MyConfigDedicated xmlns:xsi="Removed for forum" xmlns:xsd="removed for forum">
<SessionSettings>
<GameMode>Survival</GameMode>
<InventorySizeMultiplier>10</InventorySizeMultiplier>
<AssemblerSpeedMultiplier>10</AssemblerSpeedMultiplier>
<AssemblerEfficiencyMultiplier>10</AssemblerEfficiencyMultiplier>
<RefinerySpeedMultiplier>10</RefinerySpeedMultiplier>
<OnlineMode>PUBLIC</OnlineMode>
<MaxPlayers>20</MaxPlayers>
<MaxFloatingObjects>64</MaxFloatingObjects>
<EnvironmentHostility>SAFE</EnvironmentHostility>
<AutoHealing>true</AutoHealing>
<EnableCopyPaste>false</EnableCopyPaste>
<WeaponsEnabled>true</WeaponsEnabled>
<ShowPlayerNamesOnHud>true</ShowPlayerNamesOnHud>
<ThrusterDamage>true</ThrusterDamage>
<CargoShipsEnabled>false</CargoShipsEnabled>
<EnableSpectator>false</EnableSpectator>
<RemoveTrash>false</RemoveTrash>
<WorldSizeKm>0</WorldSizeKm>
<RespawnShipDelete>true</RespawnShipDelete>
<ResetOwnership>false</ResetOwnership>
<WelderSpeedMultiplier>5</WelderSpeedMultiplier>
<GrinderSpeedMultiplier>5</GrinderSpeedMultiplier>
<RealisticSound>false</RealisticSound>
<ClientCanSave>false</ClientCanSave>
<HackSpeedMultiplier>0.33</HackSpeedMultiplier>
<PermanentDeath>false</PermanentDeath>
<AutoSaveInMinutes>5</AutoSaveInMinutes>
<AutoSave>true</AutoSave>
<SpawnShipTimeMultiplier>1</SpawnShipTimeMultiplier>
<DestructibleBlocks>true</DestructibleBlocks>
<EnableIngameScripts>true</EnableIngameScripts>
<ViewDistance>15000</ViewDistance>
<EnableToolShake>false</EnableToolShake>
<VoxelGeneratorVersion>1</VoxelGeneratorVersion>
<EnableOxygen>true</EnableOxygen>
</SessionSettings>
<Scenario>
<TypeId>MyObjectBuilder_ScenarioDefinition</TypeId>
<SubtypeId>EasyStart1</SubtypeId>
</Scenario>
<LoadWorld>Massive Pear Gaming</LoadWorld>
<IP>[redacted]</IP>
<SteamPort>[redacted]</SteamPort>
<ServerPort>[redacted]</ServerPort>
<AsteroidAmount>0</AsteroidAmount>
<Administrators>
<unsignedLong>[redacted]</unsignedLong>
</Administrators>
<Banned />
<Mods />
<Mods>
<unsignedLong>298550266</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>529982385</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>494313085</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>556092142</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>543770448</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>298913292</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>429053416</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>536696922</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>506934333</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>380993690</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>497110329</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>444539430</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>433922334</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>403921671</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>412134393</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>436025957</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>389589518</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>362506875</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>472832143</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>301830183</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>417028349</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>358112540</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>294619787</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>475375953</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>578116736</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>379856794</unsignedLong>
<unsignedLong>316190120</unsignedLong>
</Mods>
<GroupID>0</GroupID>
<ServerName>[redacted]</ServerName>
<WorldName>[redacted]</WorldName>
<PauseGameWhenEmpty>false</PauseGameWhenEmpty>
<IgnoreLastSession>false</IgnoreLastSession>
</MyConfigDedicated>

User avatar
Moon920
No Longer a Newb
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 5:27 pm

Re: Max players 0/0, server won't load

Post by Moon920 » Fri Jan 08, 2016 11:23 am

Strange that it shows 0/0. In my experience, the savegame file (Sandbox.sbc) will always take priority over your config file.

Connect to your server via FTP, open this file with a word editor like Notepad,
spaceengi/Saves/MAP-NAME/Sandbox.sbc

Do a search for MaxPlayers and make sure that is set to 20. Should look like this:
<MaxPlayers>20</MaxPlayers>

Save file and restart the server.

Sometimes my server join screen from Steam doesn't work until I hit REFRESH a couple times. Otherwise, you can create a shortcut on your desktop and use this for destination, this always works for me:
steam://connect/xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:xxxxx

If that doesn't work, try removing your mods, maybe one is causing the problem.

KingKull2112
GameServers.com Forum Newb
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:44 pm

Re: Max players 0/0, server won't load

Post by KingKull2112 » Fri Jan 08, 2016 11:53 am

If I try to join at all, it tells me "this game no longer exists" and in the sbc it also says 20 players max.

I reinstalled the server and I found out it doesn't like the name of the world file for some reason. I changed it from what I renamed it to to "My World" and it showed up 0/20. However, there's a hotfix, so I'm waiting for that to finish right now before I see if it's using the Sandbox.sbc I have with mods installed on it.
Also, if it is one of the mods, I can't figure out which one it is. They're all still live on the workshop

Edit: I found one of the mods I was trying to install was a script for program blocks. However, I don't think this is the only issue

KingKull2112
GameServers.com Forum Newb
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 07, 2016 11:44 pm

Re: Max players 0/0, server won't load

Post by KingKull2112 » Fri Jan 08, 2016 12:43 pm

I made a new world in my single player and uploaded it. It works now, I just need to change a few things in the sbc. I was about to start pulling my hair out, but it works now

User avatar
Moon920
No Longer a Newb
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 5:27 pm

Re: Max players 0/0, server won't load

Post by Moon920 » Fri Jan 08, 2016 5:39 pm

KingKull2112 wrote:I made a new world in my single player and uploaded it. It works now, I just need to change a few things in the sbc. I was about to start pulling my hair out, but it works now
I always get the "this game no longer exists" message when I try to connect via Steam Server Browser. Creating a desktop shortcut has been my only solution, that always works for me. Sounds like some of the guys on my server got it to work by refreshing a few times before clicking Join. Strange problem, glad you got it sorted out.

[gs] Andrew
GameServers Staff
Posts: 89
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 8:22 pm

Re: Max players 0/0, server won't load

Post by [gs] Andrew » Tue Jan 12, 2016 4:07 pm

If anyone is still having difficulties with this, please submit a support ticket. Space Engineers does have a log in the root directory that is accessible via FTP and will generate any error messages.

Post Reply