HL:2 {CS:S} Server Rate Guide

General Support & Discussion related to Half Life 2 games including Counter Strike Source, Day of Defeat Source, and Half Life 2 Deathmatch.
PIZZAMAN3
No Longer a Newb
Posts: 113
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 7:28 pm
Location: WA (state)
Contact:

Post by PIZZAMAN3 » Sun Nov 04, 2007 5:30 pm

A css server can't go below 33 tick lol.
X-Fire: Pizza33
Steam: Darkevilguy
Game Server Provider Reviews: http://gspcheck.info

User avatar
NightLinks
Frag. Not post.
Posts: 2578
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 1:33 pm
Location: Bronx, NY

Post by NightLinks » Sun Nov 04, 2007 5:37 pm

Code: Select all

sv_client_cmdrate_difference 1 
sv_client_predict 1
sv_client_interpolate 1
sv_client_min_interp_ratio -1
sv_client_max_interp_ratio -1


I'm using the client part on my 100 tick server. I was wondering if it can cause players to timeout?
Image

TIM3PORT
Frag. Not post.
Posts: 4652
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 3:40 pm
Location: NJ
Contact:

Post by TIM3PORT » Mon Nov 05, 2007 2:56 am

I don't think it would, are they having some form of high ping or something? does it hapen to everyone or just a few for exmaple people from the europe?
[img]http://www.pandatales.org/images/source/TIM3PORT/TIM3PORT.gif[/img]

User avatar
NightLinks
Frag. Not post.
Posts: 2578
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 1:33 pm
Location: Bronx, NY

Post by NightLinks » Mon Nov 05, 2007 3:01 am

No high pings just 2 - 3 time outs i saw in the server.
Image

crankkase
GameServers.com Forum Newb
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 6:36 am

Post by crankkase » Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:54 am

Where do i put these via FTP...what path or file /directory...can i put em in the advanced view of config in members area? Yes... IM4 N00B

User avatar
NightLinks
Frag. Not post.
Posts: 2578
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 1:33 pm
Location: Bronx, NY

Post by NightLinks » Mon Dec 31, 2007 4:59 am

You put them in your server.cfg file. Login to FTP and download it.
Image

B_l_a_z_e
GameServers.com Forum Newb
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2008 10:39 pm
Location: IL
Contact:

66tick

Post by B_l_a_z_e » Mon Mar 17, 2008 1:08 pm

we have a 66tick server and a few things you have listed isnt in our file

never has been so should i just add your 66tick settings even the settings you have listed and i dont have?

for example i dont have the following..

sv_minupdaterate 33
sv_maxupdaterate 67
sv_mincmdrate 33
sv_maxcmdrate 67
sv_client_cmdrate_difference 1
sv_client_predict 1
sv_client_interpolate 1
sv_client_min_interp_ratio -1
sv_client_max_interp_ratio -1

never had them on any gameserver we had could that be the issure as why we do experience lagg for our CSS server reason why i am asking about the settings is when our server was for Day of Defeat: Source we had no lagg what-so-ever and now we have a CS:S GunGame server that seems to get laggy out of nowhere.

zstangkrewson
No Longer a Newb
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 7:51 pm

Post by zstangkrewson » Sun Mar 30, 2008 5:38 pm

ok, so by editing my rates, does this make me a bit more efficient during game play or just makes my stats update faster, what is the rates adjustments for????????

thetermanator
No Longer a Newb
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2007 3:20 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Contact:

Post by thetermanator » Thu Apr 17, 2008 6:55 pm

a CS:S server may not go below 32 tick but zBlock was telling me my server was 32 tick when it was 33.
Click on the link for an awesome game server: http://www.gameservers.com/?ref=1618638

grpaul
No Longer a Newb
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 11:29 am
Contact:

Post by grpaul » Wed Apr 23, 2008 6:35 pm

Doesn't ZBLOCK not allow pub servers..?
Free File Hosting -
http://www.filecram.com

[color=Red][b]Are you a Computer GURU, want to be one, or need a technical question answered ?
Visit: [url]http://www.Techie-Gurus.com[/url][/b][/color]

boydjphillips
GameServers.com Forum Newb
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:59 pm

Post by boydjphillips » Sun Apr 27, 2008 9:53 pm

hey tim (or anyone else),

I am basically using ur rates for a 32 slot CSS server in NY/NJ. The server stays pretty full and when more than about 24 players are in game, people say that CHOKE goes through the roof (45 to 55). What should I tweak in which direction to help correct this. I am still at a loss as to what exactly CHOKE is. I have read about it, but I am still rather lost!

thanks

spoonman184
No Longer a Newb
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 8:59 am

Post by spoonman184 » Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:38 pm

I tried the 66 tickrate cfg settings for my server (66 tick), and it actually made my client ping WORSE. I have it set to a custom setting now, raised the max settings so I am going to try the 100 tick cfg settigns. ill report back with my findings.

sk3tch
GameServers.com Forum Newb
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 10:27 am

Post by sk3tch » Mon May 26, 2008 10:31 am

TIMEPORT!!

I rented a server here! Hey! How do I change a server ticrate to 66?

spoonman184
No Longer a Newb
Posts: 42
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 8:59 am

Post by spoonman184 » Mon May 26, 2008 3:57 pm

Assumining you purchased the 66 tick slot, the default setting is 33 tick rate. Create a ticket asking to upgrade to 66. Assuming its a 100 tick slot, and you want to downgrade, create a ticket.

Waterdish
No Longer a Newb
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 9:46 pm

Post by Waterdish » Mon Sep 01, 2008 11:04 am

Sorry newb here, where do you change these configs? I can't seem to find them...

Post Reply