Vent 3 FAQS

Ask fellow forum members questions related to Ventrilo servers!
User avatar
[gs] Dr. Worm
GameServers Staff
Posts: 1470
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:12 pm
Location: New Jersey

Vent 3 FAQS

Post by [gs] Dr. Worm » Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:09 pm

Ventrilo Frequently Asked Questions



Question: How do I set duplicate IPs?

-Log in to Ventrilo 3.0 as your administrator account.
-Right click your name of your server.
-Go to Server Admin.
-Click User Editor.
-Create a new user, with the appropriate settings, for both users.
-Under the Network Tab, you will see a "Duplicate IP" drop down box.
-Relog into Ventrilo, with that username/password.

Question: Why wont my server start?

- Make sure your server name is more than 4 characters long. If it is not, change it and then hit update on the configuration page. All of the instances of servers being down so far have been related to this new requirement by Ventrilo 3.0

Question: How do I set a default channel?

-The new default channel option is inside the user editor under the network tab.

Question: How do I set up a user?

-Log in to Ventrilo 3.0 as your administrator account.
-Right click your name of your server.
-Go to Server Admin.
-Click User Editor.
-Create a new user, with the appropriate settings, for your self.
-Relog into Ventrilo, with that username/password.

Question: Why are my Admin Features disabled?

-Log in to Ventrilo 3.0 as your administrator account.
-Right click your name of your server.
-Go to Server Admin.
-Click User Editor.
-If your name is already there, click on it and continue to the Admin tab, and check all the boxes for your admin features. You should now have your admin commands
-If your name is not there, refer to the question above.

Question: What are the new user rights, (GUEST) tag, etc.?

- For a very detailed explanation of the user access rights and all information about it, visit http://www.ventrilo.com/uar.php
- To get rid of the guest tag the user must be created in the user editor, see the link above for the UAR FAQ page.

I stole the above from "Xzero" on the Ventrilo forums. hehe. Thanx buddy.

Get your Ventrilo Server here: http://www.gameservers.com/ventrilo_servers/
Last edited by [gs] Dr. Worm on Wed Nov 14, 2007 9:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

OwnagePranks
GameServers.com Forum Newb
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 10:37 pm

Worm

Post by OwnagePranks » Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:14 pm

You are a lifesaver <3

Shib
Click my affiliate link
Posts: 499
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 1:21 pm

Post by Shib » Wed Nov 14, 2007 8:20 pm

remove the . from the user link :D

User avatar
[gs] Dr. Worm
GameServers Staff
Posts: 1470
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:12 pm
Location: New Jersey

Post by [gs] Dr. Worm » Wed Nov 14, 2007 11:12 pm

I fixed it in the initial post.

User avatar
[gs] Dr. Worm
GameServers Staff
Posts: 1470
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 12:12 pm
Location: New Jersey

Post by [gs] Dr. Worm » Thu Nov 15, 2007 12:07 am

Also, for Adding, and Editing Users, view here:

http://forums.gameservers.com/viewtopic ... 118#134118

CSAReaper
Frag. Not post.
Posts: 1405
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2005 5:14 pm
Location: Pottsville, PA

Post by CSAReaper » Thu Nov 15, 2007 1:05 am

what about being able to set specific channels to specific codex's? I see its an option with this version but those boxes are grayed out

Pendaz
GameServers.com Forum Newb
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 12:33 am

Post by Pendaz » Sun Nov 18, 2007 9:08 pm

is it possible to play a custom phonetic sound when a user joins? for example: "welcome to our ventrilo server"

Takc
GameServers.com Forum Newb
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 04, 2007 10:38 am

Post by Takc » Tue Dec 04, 2007 10:49 am


nwixcey
No Longer a Newb
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 5:49 am
Contact:

Post by nwixcey » Tue Apr 22, 2008 6:19 am

what you need help with?

explain and i will direct you with ease
Did i help you with any information you required?
If i did and you want to buy a server please use this link: http://www.gameservers.com/?ref=161836

Image

Wowbagger
GameServers.com Forum Newb
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 5:28 am

Thinking of switching from TS to Vent, please need help

Post by Wowbagger » Fri May 30, 2008 6:41 am

Hi all,
Im in need of some advice here.

Were running a TS server for our clan atm but are looking for maybe switching it to Ventrilo.
Now, in TS were having 2 channels, one Low Quality Speex 12.3 (for our members with extremely low bandwidth) and one High Quality.

So my question is, if we switch to Ventrilo, can we have the same thing?

Thanks in advance

cbt
GameServers.com Forum Newb
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 22, 2009 3:45 pm

Post by cbt » Sun Apr 26, 2009 5:26 pm

Hi all, I have a question:
Is there a way to remove the added quotes from a GameServers.com hosted ventrilo server's name?

Using the GS web control panel for my ventrilo server, the name is displayed in quotes on the actual server.

Example:

Using the GS web control panel: https://my.gameservers.com/home/ > 25 player ventrilo server > Info

The "Server Name" field is set to:
Voice Server

When I connect to the actual server, the server name displayed is:
"Voice Server"

[gs] devicenull
Frag. Not post.
Posts: 2507
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:12 am

Post by [gs] devicenull » Tue Apr 28, 2009 1:05 pm

cbt wrote:Hi all, I have a question:
Is there a way to remove the added quotes from a GameServers.com hosted ventrilo server's name?

Using the GS web control panel for my ventrilo server, the name is displayed in quotes on the actual server.

Example:

Using the GS web control panel: https://my.gameservers.com/home/ > 25 player ventrilo server > Info

The "Server Name" field is set to:
Voice Server

When I connect to the actual server, the server name displayed is:
"Voice Server"


No, that is not possible.
Image

J0sh
No Longer a Newb
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 4:20 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Post by J0sh » Mon Oct 26, 2009 2:40 pm

There is a lot to do to make your server uncrashable, if you need help come to my ventrilo, its a public vent so I have to deal with idiots all the time and I can help you set your ventrilo up. I have had my ventrilo for around 3 months now and have at least 20 people on it all the time, never been crashed, but people have tried

IP: vent11.gameservers.com
port: 4483

look for J0sh the owner, that would be me
Vent11.gameservers.com
Port: 4483
Publicvent11.tk
"A Public Ventrilo for everyday use, totally free!"

cmiller
GameServers.com Forum Newb
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2009 11:54 pm

problems with talking

Post by cmiller » Thu Nov 19, 2009 11:59 pm

I have a few members on my vent that can not talk in the vent server while they are playing in game. Two are using windows vista, one is using xp. They can hear us talking, but they can not talk. But when they alt+tab out of the game, we can hear them fine... ANY help will be greatly appreciated.

Kookol
GameServers.com Forum Newb
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 9:58 pm

Re: Vent 3 FAQS

Post by Kookol » Mon Nov 22, 2010 10:01 pm

Ok is there a way for my guild mates just to create there own name and logg onto server with the password or do I have to create each User???

Post Reply