Blackops Timed Messages

General Support & Discussion related to the Call of Duty Series including COD1, COD2, COD4, COD:WAW, United Offensive and Blackops.
Ozark
GameServers.com Forum Newb
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2009 11:59 am

Re: Blackops Timed Messages

Post by Ozark » Sat Dec 11, 2010 6:53 pm

The timed messages feature does not seem to be working on our server either. Have tried multiple times with server restarts each time, and no messages ever appear.

IP: 173.199.102.165

poison_pawn
What's Frag Mean?
Posts: 211
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2010 9:44 pm

Re: Blackops Timed Messages

Post by poison_pawn » Sun Dec 12, 2010 7:01 am

kryp2nite26 wrote:
Hockster wrote:
kryp2nite26 wrote:Any chance of getting the minimum time allowed to send a message reduced to 30 seconds?
Why do you want to reduce it to 30 seconds? You are aware that the vast majority of the players out there will tell you that servers spamming constant messaging is highly annoying and many will leave your server just because of that. When you combine 30 second admin messages with the ongoing player chatter, its constant spam on the screen.
Ive been doing it this way for years and my servers have done just fine....a message every 30 seconds isnt spamming anyway.Just because you think it is isnt a good enough reason for me to think it is also. Im not the only one that thinks 1 minute is too long.
this is true: i would be happier with 40 sec :)

Putze
GameServers.com Forum Newb
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 8:01 am

Re: Blackops Timed Messages

Post by Putze » Sun Dec 12, 2010 8:05 am

My Server IP is: 173.199.64.47:3114
Dont'work...
Thanx for help!

Gipsy
GameServers.com Forum Newb
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 5:15 pm

Re: Blackops Timed Messages

Post by Gipsy » Sun Dec 12, 2010 5:18 pm

It doesn't work on my server either.

195.122.134.189:3084

Thanks for help!

ps: 30 seconds would be great ;)

Hematoma
No Longer a Newb
Posts: 70
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2010 8:13 pm

Re: Blackops Timed Messages

Post by Hematoma » Sun Dec 12, 2010 11:00 pm

Devicenull can you fix our server the messages wont work. Thanks in advance! 8.6.74.42:3134
Image

V3xX
No Longer a Newb
Posts: 100
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2010 7:04 am

Re: Blackops Timed Messages

Post by V3xX » Mon Dec 13, 2010 1:56 am

our server crashed yesterday 3 times in 30 minutes...
that's not really funny -.-
Is there a relationship to this message-rotation?


greez V3xX
There are 10 types of people:
Those who understand binary and those who don't.

Image Image
Image Image

Alnitro
GameServers.com Forum Newb
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 8:27 am
Location: Syd / Australia
Contact:

Re: Blackops Timed Messages

Post by Alnitro » Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:53 am

all seems to be working well but it will not accept the brackets {FB} in our clan tag
seems less conflicts this way then using rcon thx
Image

GSG_9_Schakal
No Longer a Newb
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Nov 20, 2010 11:22 am

Re: Blackops Timed Messages

Post by GSG_9_Schakal » Mon Dec 13, 2010 9:09 am

V3xX wrote:our server crashed yesterday 3 times in 30 minutes...
that's not really funny -.-
Is there a relationship to this message-rotation?


greez V3xX
nope, there was/is a issue with the infrastructure or something like that. we dont know but very many servers have since yesterday trouble with crashes... again

I, and many others, cant even login to the member area...
Image

powah
No Longer a Newb
Posts: 130
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 2:49 pm

Re: Blackops Timed Messages

Post by powah » Mon Dec 13, 2010 9:57 am

yes, many posts are about this, i made one too... damn big problems again... pff when does this end ?
Image

[gs] devicenull
Frag. Not post.
Posts: 2507
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:12 am

Re: Blackops Timed Messages

Post by [gs] devicenull » Mon Dec 13, 2010 10:41 am

Timed messages should be working on all the servers posted up until this point. I will look into the issue with () and {}, though I cannot provide a specific ETA right now.
Image

Switch0r
No Longer a Newb
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 11:44 am

Re: Blackops Timed Messages

Post by Switch0r » Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:42 pm

[gs] devicenull wrote:Timed messages should be working on all the servers posted up until this point. I will look into the issue with () and {}, though I cannot provide a specific ETA right now.
Can i ask you how this timedmessages thing works?
Is it a config file or some third party software ?
Image

[gs] devicenull
Frag. Not post.
Posts: 2507
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:12 am

Re: Blackops Timed Messages

Post by [gs] devicenull » Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:45 pm

Switch0r wrote:
[gs] devicenull wrote:Timed messages should be working on all the servers posted up until this point. I will look into the issue with () and {}, though I cannot provide a specific ETA right now.
Can i ask you how this timedmessages thing works?
Is it a config file or some third party software ?
We wrote some software to provide this functionality for all our servers, since it was a common request and the game's developers hadn't included it.
Image

Switch0r
No Longer a Newb
Posts: 77
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2010 11:44 am

Re: Blackops Timed Messages

Post by Switch0r » Mon Dec 13, 2010 3:47 pm

[gs] devicenull wrote:
Switch0r wrote:
[gs] devicenull wrote: We wrote some software to provide this functionality for all our servers, since it was a common request and the game's developers hadn't included it.
[gs] devicenull can you plz read this thread then:

http://forums.gameservers.com/viewtopic ... 11&t=42917

Thanks.
Image

ChapaNDJ
No Longer a Newb
Posts: 193
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 4:12 pm
Location: Argentina

Re: Blackops Timed Messages

Post by ChapaNDJ » Mon Dec 13, 2010 8:29 pm

Apparently i can't use / on the automated messages or the rest of the message will dissapear?
Any alternative? I want to announce my Steam groups so people can join.

EDIT: I see you can't add // or the rest won't appear.

spidypiet
No Longer a Newb
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 8:58 am

Re: Blackops Timed Messages

Post by spidypiet » Tue Dec 14, 2010 8:06 am

to bad they didnt include more server options from modded COD servers
they had a excelent message system

60 sec between each message isnt going to stick out in the regular chat

server messages should have there own spot on the hud
without cluttering the screen (like a one line message loop system top/bottom)

Post Reply